For Audi enthusiasts

A168039 medium photo

Ten R8 LMSs to Compete in 24 Hours of Spa

Fresh off their victory at the 24 Hours of Nurburgring, Kelvin van der Linde, Christopher Mies, Connor DE Phillippi, and Markus Winkelhock will be back behind the wheel of an Audi R8 LMS, racing for another 24 Hour victory, though not all in the same car.

The drivers will take part in the race as one of four factory supported cars, and one of 10 R8 LMSs racing for a full day at Spa-Francorchamps, in Belgium.

“We are sending our four factory-supported race cars to compete under the supervision of experienced teams who regularly contest the Blancpain GT Series,” says Chris Reinke, Head of Audi Sport customer racing. “Together we have drawn up promising combinations of drivers that should enable us to fight for victory in the Ardennes.”

Since entering the race for the first time in 2011, the R8 LMS has won three times, in 2011, 2012, and 2014. Audi Sport Team WRT, which will enter two cars this year, has been there since the first race.

Team I.S.R., meanwhile, will be racing the track for the first time ever. They will have the benefit of driver Frank Stippler’s experience, though, as a former winner of the race.

Stippler is joined by René Rast, and Markus Winkelhock as former winners at Spa who will be racing again this year.

The race takes place on July 29 and 30th.

The team lineups for Audi’s factory-supported teams are as follows:

Audi Sport Team I.S.R.

Pierre Kaffer/Kelvin van der Linde/Frank Stippler (D/ZA/D)

Audi Sport Team Saintéloc

Jules Gounon/Christopher Haase/Markus Winkelhock (F/D/D)

Audi Sport Team WRT

René Rast/Nico Müller/Antonio García (D/CH/E)

Christopher Mies/Connor De Phillippi/Frédéric Vervisch (D/USA/B)

Instant Comments...